International Reference Group

Dennis Andersson

Is a Swedish sports entrepreneur, founder and General Secretary of Gothia Cup, the world’s largest and most international youth football tournament annually summoning around 35 000 youths. Gothia Cup was started in 1975, and each year around 1700 teams from 80 nations participates.

Monica Frassoni

Is an Italian Green politician, and the former co-chair of the European Green Party from 2009 until 2019, she is currently the President of the European center for electoral support.

Pam Fredman

Is a Swedish Professor of Neurochemistry, and the former Vice-Chancellor of the University of Gothenburg from 2006 until 2017, Pam is currently President of the International Association of Universities (IAU).

Jan-Olof Jacke

Director General at the Confederation of Swedish Enterprise. Jan-Olof has previously been CEO of AstraZeneca AB as well as executed senior finance roles in Astra Zeneca in Sweden and globally. He is also Board member of The Research Institute of Industrial Economics.

Allan Larsson

Is a former Swedish Social Democratic politician, has been Minister for Finance, Director General of the Swedish Labour Market, Director General for DG Employment, Social Affairs and Equal Opportunities in the EC, and until 2019 was a Special Adviser to the EC on the European Pillar of Social Rights. Allan is founder and senior adviser in ElectriCITY/Hammarby Sjöstad, chair of the national innovation program Viable Cities, and vice chair of EU Mission Board on climate neutral cities.

Cecilia Malmström

Is a Swedish Dr. in political science and Liberal politician, holder during 2020 of the Assar Gabrielsson Visiting Professorship at the School of Business, Economics and Law at the University of Gothenburg, she served as European Commissioner for Trade from 2014 to 2019. She previously served as European Commissioner for Home Affairs from 2010 to 2014 and Swedish Minister for European Union Affairs from 2006 to 2010. She was a Swedish Member of the European Parliament from 1999 to 2006. Cecilia is Co-initiator of the think tank-project.

Rainer Münz

Is a Swiss Dr. in Demography, until the late autumn of 2019 Rainer was Adviser on Migration Policy to Jean-Claude Juncker, President of the EC, he is one of the chairs of KNOMAD, the World Bank’s Global Knowledge Partnership on Migration and Development, and co-chair of IOM’s Migration Advisory Board.

Susan E Owens

Is British Emeritus Professor of Environment and Policy, Department of Geography, and Fellow Emerita of Newnham College, University of Cambridge, Susan is a member of Defra’s Hazardous Substances Advisory Committee (HSAC) and of the Science Advisory Council of the Stockholm Environment Institute (of which she is Chair).

Lenka Rovná

Is a Czech Professor and Vice-Rector for European Affairs, Deputy Director of the Institute of International Studies, and Director of West European Studies, Charles University, Prague. Lenka was an alternate member of the representative of the Czech government when the EU Constitutional Treaty was being created.

Rita Süssmuth

Prof. Dr. is a German academic, politician, and a member of the Christian Democratic Union (CDU). Rita has been Federal Minister of Family Affairs, Senior Citizens, Women and Youth. She has also been member as well as President of the German Bundestag. Rita is involved in a number of academic, philanthropic, and business activities.

Anna Terrón Cusí

Is a former Catalan and Spanish Socialist politician, Anna is currently Director of the International and Ibero-American Foundation for Administration and Public Policies (FIIAPP), Anna is also a member of the Board of Directors of Friends of Europe and president of the Advisory Council of the Institute for Globalization, Culture and Mobility of the United Nations University.